Financial Holds /Delinquent Fees
Students who have amounts owed to the University greater than $.01 may not participate in graduation ceremonies, receive a diploma, receive an associate in arts certificate, or receive a transcript until all amounts owed to the University have been satisfactorily settled. This includes library charges, health center charges, parking fines, and other University debts. Accounts are sent to a collection agency if the student has had an outstanding debt for 120 days or longer. These fees will not be removed unless there is a documented University error. Students can avoid delinquency fees by monitoring their student account weekly on iRattler. The student will be responsible for collection agency costs per the University Board of Trustees.
Students who have amounts owed to the University less than $500.00 may be permitted to register for subsequent terms.
If your Florida Prepaid plan or Third Party agreement does not pay the full amount of tuition owed to the University, the balance must be paid by the fee payment deadline. Intern Participation Certificates only pay the cost of matriculation fees, the balance must be paid by the fee payment deadline. All state employee fee waivers must be turned into the Office of Student Financial Services (Student Accounts Section) by the fifth day of classes. Any balance due must be paid by the fee payment deadline.
A "Negative Service Indicator" is placed on the account of all students who have outstanding charges due to the University. Students who have amounts owed to the University greater than $.01 may not participate in graduation ceremonies, receive a diploma, receive an associate in arts certificate, or receive a transcript until all amounts owed to the University have been satisfactorily settled. The "stop" will not be removed to receive University services until the debt is cleared.
Requests to waive late payment and late registration must be submitted prior to the end of each academic term. The form must be completed to include all necessary documentation for consideration.
Request for waiver of the $100.00 Late Registration Fee may be submitted to the Office of the Registrar.
Request for waiver of the $100.00 Late Payment Fee may be submitted to the Office of Student Financial Services (Student Accounts Section).
Waivers may be granted in situations involving administrative error or unusual circumstances beyond the control of the student. Students will be required to present written documentation of the circumstances involved. Waiver request are only accepted during the current academic year.
NOTE: Lack of funds is not a valid reason to waive the late payment fee or late registration fee.
State Employee Fee Waivers
All state employees’ fee waivers must be turned into the Office of Student Financial Services (Student Accounts Section) by the fifth day of classes. State employee fee waivers pay for 6 hours plus the health fee and ID card fee. The student is responsible for the mandatory transportation access fee. If the student takes more than 6 hours, the State Employee Waiver will only cover the cost of tuition. The student is responsible for payment of the additional course fees, ID card fee, health fee and transportation access fee. The State Employee Fee Waiver does not cover DIS, Thesis, Applied Music courses and/or Internship courses.
Florida A&M University has established a Book Voucher Program, which allows students to add value to their Rattler I.D. Card to purchase books at the FAMU Book Store (only) prior to the first day of class. To be eligible for a financial aid book voucher, the student’s financial aid awards must exceed University charges due (i.e. qualified financial aid for student = $1000.00 less University charges for student = $800.00; this student will be eligible to receive a book voucher advance up to $200). In order to apply for a book voucher, you must:
1. Be a registered student and
2. Have a valid Rattler I. D. Card
Go to FAMU’s homepage @ www.famu.edu;
Click on iRattler; log-in using your USER ID and PASSWORD (case sensitive);
UnderSelf-Service, look underStudent Financials and click on the Book Voucher Request link.
Value will be added (amount you need for your books) to the Rattler Card based on eligibility (minimum $100.00 maximum $799.00 per semester Undergraduate, Graduate, Distance Learning and maximum $1,000.00 per semester Law School). An email will be sent to confirm that the value has been added to the Rattler Card 2-3 working days after the request. This program is for students whose financial aid exceeds all University charges due.
The University must file Form-1098T for each eligible student enrolled at the University for whom a reportable transaction is made for each calendar year. The University per IRS regulations will report all personal payments( for example personal checks, cash, credit card transactions, i.e) made to qualifying tuition and tuition related expenses. Should you have questions please contact Student Accounts at 850 561-2949.
Exceptions. Per the Internal Revenue Service (www.irs.gov Instructions for Forms 1098-E and 1098-T), the University does not have to file Form 1098-T or furnish a statement for:
Courses for which no academic credit is offered, even if the student is otherwise enrolled in a degree program;
Nonresident alien students, unless requested by the student;
Students whose qualified tuition and related expenses are entirely waived or paid entirely with scholarships or grants; and
Students for whom the University does not maintain a separate financial account and whose qualified tuition and related expenses are covered by a formal billing arrangement between the University and the student’s employer or governmental entity, such as the Department of Veteran Affairs or the Department of Defense.
1098-T Statements are available online and mailed if requested by January 31 of each year. Duplicates are available online at www.famu.edu iRattler Self-Service Campus Finances 1098-T Data.